The National Forum   Donate   Your Account   On Line Opinion   Forum   Blogs   Polling   About - National Forum's election coverage site
QLD 2006 :: Other Elections :: Contact  :: About 
Join the mailing list

Our Members
The Brisbane Institute
Local Government Association of Queensland
Queensland Univsersity of Technology

Elections > Queensland Election 2006 > Seats


Click to enlarge

MOOR, Tony - ALP

* incumbent

Current Results
Past Results

About Caloundra

Caloundra was created in 1991 from the former seat of Landsborough. It is now exclusively a coastal seat extending from just south of Kawana to the northern portion of Bribie Island. It includes the coommunities of Currimundi, Little Mountain, Caloundra, Golden Beach and Shelly Beach.

Seat Background

Joan Sheldon won Landsborough for the Liberal Party in the 1990 by-election following the resignation of Former National Party Premier, Mike Ahern. In 2001 Joan Sheldon retained the seat with a margin of just 1 percent having received only 38.6 percent of the primary vote. One Nation polled well (19.1 percent) and its preferences mariginally favoured Labor. In 2004 it was won by Mark McArdle, the new Liberal Party Deputy Leader who holds it by a slim 1.2 percent margin.

Seat map copyright © 2006 Queensland Electoral Commission


© The National Forum 2017. All rights reserved.